John Bertot Receives Inaugural iSchool Student Group Faculty Award

Thursday, May 28, 2015

On May 22, 2015, the iSchool Student Groups announced that iPAC Co-Director John Bertot was selected to receive the inaugural iSchool Student Group Faculty Award. Examples in support of his nomination included:

  • His support and assistance when responding to student questions and concerns.
  • The opportunities he seeks out for students to gain professional experience through publication, meeting leaders in the field, and securing internships.
  • The inspiring example he sets as an instructor, leader, mentor, and researcher.
  • The thought-provoking, student-focused, and well-designed courses he teaches

As described by the nominators, "John Bertot is selfless, tireless, curious, and thorough."

The iSchool Student Groups sponsor and coordinate this annual award. The groups include ALA@UMD, ASIS&T, iDiversity, MIMSA, SAM, and SLA@UMD. The award is an opportunity for students to recognize the contributions that faculty have made to student success through professional development, instruction, and mentorship. Selection is through received nominations by students based on the award criteria, followed by an open student voting process.